Sustainable Severn Sound (SSS)

Location, Telephone & Internet
Office Phone 705-526-1371
Fax 705-526-4993
Social Media Facebook Twitter
Located In Community Midland
Address 105 Fourth St
Midland, ON L4R 3S9
View Google Map
Contact Information
Primary Contact Tracy Roxborough, Sustainability Coordinator; Phone: ext 112; Email:
Alternate Contact Victoria Ervick, Climate Change Action Plan Coordinator, Sustainable Severn Sound (SSS); Phone: ext 111; Email:
Primary Executive Douglas Luker, Sustainability Committee Chairperson, Township of Tiny; Phone: 705-526-4204 ext 224; Email:
Alternate Executive Chris McLaughlin, Sustainability Committee Member, North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation
Mailing Address c/o NSCFDC 
PO Box 8 
Midland, ON L4R 4K6
Description & Services
Description (Service) Regional sustainability program supported by six (6) of the municipalities in the Severn Sound area, including the Towns of Midland and Penetanguishene, and the Townships of Georgian Bay, Severn, Tiny and Tay * This project also receives in-kind support and Sustainability Committee representation from the North Simcoe Community Futures Development Corporation / Société d'aide au développement des collectivités Simcoe Nord (NSCFDC), the Severn Sound Environmental Association (SSEA), and the Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit (SMDHU) * The SC serves as an advisory committee to SSS by supporting the SSS objectives to: (1) educate municipalities and their communities on sustainable practices and policies and connect them to resources, tools and funding, (2) advance the adoption of practices/policies within municipal operations to support climate change action, greenhouse gas mitigation and sustainable communities, and (3) advocate for sustainable environmental, social and economic practices and policies at the direction of the partner municipalities.  
In 2018, SSS and the Sustainability Committee released the region's first Local Climate Change Action Plan: Regional Greenhouse Gas (GHG) Summary. This work involved significant input by municipal staff, Council members, First Nation representatives, businesses, community organizations and residents, and includes both a corporate and community-wide GHG inventory for each municipality; identification of a regional GHG reduction target, and municipal and community actions to reduce GHG emissions. Implementation is set to begin in 2019.
Hours Mon-Fri 8 am-4 pm
Areas Served Georgian Bay Township ; Orillia ; Oro-Medonte ; Severn ; Simcoe North - Midland, Penetanguishene, Tay, Tiny
Eligibility No restrictions
Application Call for information
Languages English
Fees None
Other Details
Physical Access Partially Accessible